Share
| All Events >
Author
Bruno Lloret (Santiago de Chile, 1990) is a writer and researcher. He has published Nancy (Cuneta, Santiago de Chile, 2015; Two Lines Press, 2020), which received an honorable mention for the Roberto Bolaño Award for novella, and Leña (Overol, Santiago de Chile, 2018). He currently lives in London.
Translator
Ellen Jones is a researcher, editor, and Spanish-to-English literary translator based in Mexico City. She has a PhD from Queen Mary University of London and is Reviews Editor at Hispanic Research Journal. She writes regularly about multilingualism and contemporary Latin American literature, including for publications like the Guardian, the Times Literary Supplement and the Los Angeles Review of Books. Her translation from Spanish of Rodrigo Fuentes’s short story collection Trout, Belly Up (Charco Press, 2019) was shortlisted for the Translators Association First Translation Prize. You can find her at www.ellencjones.com.
Kathryn Scanlan is the author of Aug 9—Fog and The Dominant Animal. She lives in Los Angeles.
April 22, 2021 | 5:30pm

Nancy: Bruno Lloret and Ellen Jones in conversation with Kathryn Scanlan

Virtual Event

5:30 pm PT | 6:30 pm MT | 7:30 pm CT | 8:30 pm ET

Join us for an event celebrating Bruno Lloret’s Nancy, a powerful coming-of-age story that tracks Nancy’s youth through remote memories of her Chilean childhood, translated by Ellen Jones. Chilean author Bruno Lloret and translator Ellen Jones join Kathryn Scanlan to discuss his innovative use of typography and illustration to capture his narrator’s waning sense of consciousness.

Registration information coming soon.

Contact:
Leslie-Ann Woofter
lwoofter@catranslation.org
415.512.8812
Author
Bruno Lloret (Santiago de Chile, 1990) is a writer and researcher. He has published Nancy (Cuneta, Santiago de Chile, 2015; Two Lines Press, 2020), which received an honorable mention for the Roberto Bolaño Award for novella, and Leña (Overol, Santiago de Chile, 2018). He currently lives in London.
Translator
Ellen Jones is a researcher, editor, and Spanish-to-English literary translator based in Mexico City. She has a PhD from Queen Mary University of London and is Reviews Editor at Hispanic Research Journal. She writes regularly about multilingualism and contemporary Latin American literature, including for publications like the Guardian, the Times Literary Supplement and the Los Angeles Review of Books. Her translation from Spanish of Rodrigo Fuentes’s short story collection Trout, Belly Up (Charco Press, 2019) was shortlisted for the Translators Association First Translation Prize. You can find her at www.ellencjones.com.
Kathryn Scanlan is the author of Aug 9—Fog and The Dominant Animal. She lives in Los Angeles.